Fund for the Advancement of Space Science Education


Throughout his life, Gerald Soffen dedicated himself to fostering the growth of young space scientists and engineers. The Dr. Gerald A. Soffen Memorial Fund for the Advancement of Space Science Education was established to continue Jerry's commitment to the future of space by supporting motivated students in the fields of space science and engineering.

Since the fall of 2002, the Soffen Fund has provided students pursuing undergraduate or graduate degrees in space-related sciences and engineering with Travel Grants. The Travel Grants enable awardees to attend a professional conference at which they present their research.

Over the next several years, the Fund intends to offer its first set of $25,000 Astrobiology Graduate Fellowships.

The NASA Academy Alumni Association (NAAA) manages donations made to the Soffen Memorial Fund. You may contact the Gerald A. Soffen Memorial Fund for the Advancement of Space Science Education at


The following individuals and organizations have made donations to the Soffen Fund:


Individual Contributions

Steve Abrams
Joshua Alwood
Kelley Atkinson
Dr. Rob Bayt
Hans-Peter Biemann
Dr. Klaus and Vera Biemann
Dr. Baruch Blumberg and Dr. Joyce Codispoti
Randall Bostick
Jim Brice
Dr. Grant Bromhal
Charlotte Brown
Warren Brown
Laura Burns
Joshua Chamot
Jim Chase
Srimal Choi
Natacha Chough
Naomi Chow
Kristina Colladay
Eric Collins
Todd Crowley
Dr. Joseph DiRienzi
Jeremy Dobler
Edna and Karman Duchon
Kristy Dyer
Burton Edelson
Jessica Edmonds
Emily Eelkema
Robert Effinger
Bethany Ehlmann
Johnny Erickson
Richard and Susan Fienberg
Dr. Donald Flory
Carie Frantz
Bevan and Mary-Hill French
Gene Fujii

Melinda Gallo
Stephen Garber
Jerry Gomez and Susan Wetstone
Paul Gosling
Daniel Greenspan
Watson and Margarita Gregg
Dr. Jose Guzman
Christina Hammock
Vicki and Russell Harvey
Dr. Richard Henry and Dr. Rita Mahon
Dr. Noel and Diana Hinners
Andrew Hoppin
Dr. Norman Horowitz
Aleta Johnson
Kathryn Johnson
David Kalman
Nora Kelly
Nader Khatib
Caroline Kostak
Elizabeth Knasel
David Lamb
Rivers Lamb
Jennifer Law
Arnaldo Leon
Julie Litzenberger
Dr. Adam London
Matthew and Carmen Lowry
Sara MacLellan
Charles Mackenzie
Dr. Stephen Maran
Rebecca Martin
Timothy Marzullo
Mark and Renee Matossian
Christopher May
Danielle Merfeld
Derek and Sybil Soffen Miller
Jennifer Mindock
Dr. Michelle Minitti
Dr. Mike and Mrs. Lisa Moreau
Lev and Olga Mukhina
Ken Murphy
Gerry and Marcia Neugebauer
Dr. Leslie E. Orgel
Dr. Claire Parkinson
Julia Plummer
William Pomerantz
Edwin and Margaret Prior
Changmei Ql
Matthew Reyes
Gregory Richardson
Brian Roberts
Deanne Rogers
Ian Ruiz
Michael and Jane Sander
David Schuman
Robin Smullen
Kazuko Soffen
Marvin and Phyllis Soffen
Courtney Springirth
Rich Sturmfels
Theodore Swanson
David W. Thompson
Jane Thorpe
Dr. James E. Tillman
Nicole Vennell
Graylan Vincent
Dr. Christine Wehlburg
Jennifer White
Loretta Hidalgo Whitesides
Danielle Wood
Dr. and Mrs. Yasumi Yugari
Dorthy Zukor


Organizational Contributions
Management Operations Directorate (NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center Code 200)
NASA Academy at the Goddard Space Flight Center class of 1994 10 year reunion
The National Space Grant Foundation, Inc.
National Space Club Scholars Program
The Vikings of '76 25th Anniversary Reunion


American Pioneer Ventures sponsored one of the October 2010 and April 2011 travel grants.